American Socialists Release Names of 70 Congressional Democrats in Their Ranks

The Socialist Party of America announced in their October 2009 newsletter that 70 Congressional democrats currently belong to their caucus.
This admission was recently posted on

American Socialist Voter–
Q: How many members of the U.S. Congress are also members of the DSA?
A: Seventy

Q: How many of the DSA members sit on the Judiciary Committee?
A: Eleven: John Conyers [Chairman of the Judiciary Committee], Tammy Baldwin, Jerrold Nadler, Luis Gutierrez,
Melvin Watt, Maxine Waters, Hank Johnson, Steve Cohen, Barbara Lee, Robert Wexler, Linda Sanchez [there are 23 Democrats on the Judiciary Committee of which eleven, almost half, are now members of the DSA].

Q: Who are these members of 111th Congress?
A: See the listing below

Hon. Raúl M. Grijalva (AZ-07)
Hon. Lynn Woolsey (CA-06)

Vice Chairs
Hon. Diane Watson (CA-33)
Hon. Sheila Jackson-Lee (TX-18)
Hon. Mazie Hirono (HI-02)
Hon. Dennis Kucinich (OH-10)

Senate Members
Hon. Bernie Sanders (VT)

House Members
Hon. Neil Abercrombie (HI-01)
Hon. Tammy Baldwin (WI-02)
Hon. Xavier Becerra (CA-31)
Hon. Madeleine Bordallo (GU-AL)
Hon. Robert Brady (PA-01)
Hon. Corrine Brown (FL-03)
Hon. Michael Capuano (MA-08)
Hon. André Carson (IN-07)
Hon. Donna Christensen (VI-AL)
Hon. Yvette Clarke (NY-11)
Hon. William “Lacy” Clay (MO-01)
Hon. Emanuel Cleaver (MO-05)
Hon. Steve Cohen (TN-09)
Hon. John Conyers (MI-14)
Hon. Elijah Cummings (MD-07)
Hon. Danny Davis (IL-07)
Hon. Peter DeFazio (OR-04)
Hon. Rosa DeLauro (CT-03)
Rep. Donna F. Edwards (MD-04)
Hon. Keith Ellison (MN-05)
Hon. Sam Farr (CA-17)
Hon. Chaka Fattah (PA-02)
Hon. Bob Filner (CA-51)
Hon. Barney Frank (MA-04)
Hon. Marcia L. Fudge (OH-11)
Hon. Alan Grayson (FL-08)
Hon. Luis Gutierrez (IL-04)
Hon. John Hall (NY-19)
Hon. Phil Hare (IL-17)
Hon. Maurice Hinchey (NY-22)
Hon. Michael Honda (CA-15)
Hon. Jesse Jackson, Jr. (IL-02)
Hon. Eddie Bernice Johnson (TX-30)
Hon. Hank Johnson (GA-04)
Hon. Marcy Kaptur (OH-09)
Hon. Carolyn Kilpatrick (MI-13)
Hon. Barbara Lee (CA-09)
Hon. John Lewis (GA-05)
Hon. David Loebsack (IA-02)
Hon. Ben R. Lujan (NM-3)
Hon. Carolyn Maloney (NY-14)
Hon. Ed Markey (MA-07)
Hon. Jim McDermott (WA-07)
Hon. James McGovern (MA-03)
Hon. George Miller (CA-07)
Hon. Gwen Moore (WI-04)
Hon. Jerrold Nadler (NY-08)
Hon. Eleanor Holmes-Norton (DC-AL)
Hon. John Olver (MA-01)
Hon. Ed Pastor (AZ-04)
Hon. Donald Payne (NJ-10)
Hon. Chellie Pingree (ME-01)
Hon. Charles Rangel (NY-15)
Hon. Laura Richardson (CA-37)
Hon. Lucille Roybal-Allard (CA-34)
Hon. Bobby Rush (IL-01)
Hon. Linda Sánchez (CA-47)
Hon. Jan Schakowsky (IL-09)
Hon. José Serrano (NY-16)
Hon. Louise Slaughter (NY-28)
Hon. Pete Stark (CA-13)
Hon. Bennie Thompson (MS-02)
Hon. John Tierney (MA-06)
Hon. Nydia Velazquez (NY-12)
Hon. Maxine Waters (CA-35)
Hon. Mel Watt (NC-12)
Hon. Henry Waxman (CA-30)
Hon. Peter Welch (VT-AL)
Hon. Robert Wexler (FL-19)

Get news like this in your Facebook News Feed,
Gateway Pundit

Facebook Comments

Disqus Comments

  • aprilnovember811

    I would have published that list without the Hon. before the name. Hon. Neil Abercrombie (HI-01)

    The Hon. Neil Abercrombie is part of the eligibility coverup.

  • http://gateway pamlinson

    Print this list out so we know where to start to clean up this government. Glad to actually see it in black and white (no pun intended)
    Now let’s get busy, FIRED UP AND READY TO GO.

  • Joanne

    #1 – exactly what I was thinking.

  • olm

    Well, two thoughts. No surprise…… but holy shiite batman that list needs to be everywhere. Maybe the public would re elect anyway but my guess is this could certainly rattle a few mid terms.

  • Randy

    They forgot Obama’s name on the list.

  • gus


  • Pingback: Tweets that mention Gateway Pundit --

  • Ginger

    “Let’s Roll”

  • Ginger

    The announcement was Oct 09….there’s got to be more.

  • Marsh

    What? How dare you accuse the Democraps (or the left in general) of being socialists, Marxists and communists. You guys have been watching too much Glenn Beck.

    This is one of the main reasons I left the Left. We were never honest about who we were and what we believed. That’s because we wanted to dupe average Joe’s in the Democrap Party to vote for us.

    I have no problem as a Republican and a Conservative to admit that I’m a proud Capitalist. It’s time for the left to admit that they’re Marxists. Let the voters decide if that’s okay or not. Stop lying about what you really believe.

  • Deeka

    Only 10?

  • kate

    Maurice Hinchey (NY-22 and I never thought in my life I would know what my congressional district was) is up for reelection this year. Some guy named George Philips I think is running against him. I tried twice to volunteer to do anything to help. Apparently they’re waiting until the last moment to spring the campaign on us.

    We need better candidates. We need us.

  • Me

    Clean house people, it is up to us to rid this scurge from the congress. Now is not the time to sleep but get out there and vote the commies out

  • Me

    Hey Marsh, go stick your head back in the sand.

  • Pingback: How Many Democrats are part of The Socialist Party of America? « Scotty Starnes's Blog()

  • shibumi


    Only two from the People’s Republic of Michigan.

    I am shocked!

  • bg
  • Callipygian1

    August 13th, 2010 | 4:53 pm | #14
    Hey Marsh, go stick your head back in the sand.

    I think that was sardonically satirical sarcasm…

  • rickl

    So Maxine Waters wasn’t kidding last year when she threatened to nationalize the oil companies (even though she seemed to draw a blank on the word “nationalize”).

    Marsh: Well said. Welcome aboard. (Speaking as an ex-leftist myself.)

  • Callipygian1

    My guess is that this list will hit Big Government, etc. very quickly…

    I also suppose Obama WAS on the list, but is no longer a voting member fo the caucus.

    Since he liked communicating directly with Yuri Andropov, my guess is that the less-than-honorable Ted Kennedy also belonged.