Report: At Least 140 Republican House Members Expected to Challenge Biden Electors

At least one hundred forty Republican Congressmen are expected to challenge Biden electors from states with election-changing irregularities when the House and Senate meet in a joint session on January 6 to certify the votes by the Electoral College, according to a report by CNN Thursday afternoon.

The effort is being led by Rep. Mo Brooks (R-AL) and has garnered a commitment from Sen. Josh Hawley (R-MO) to support the challenge. Senator-elect Tommy Tuberville (R-AL) has hinted at supporting the challenge but has not yet committed to doing so.

Republicans will hold 211 House seats in the 117th Congress next week with Democrats holding 222. One seat from Louisiana will be vacant after GOP Rep.-elect Luke Letlow passed away this week. One seat from New York is still undecided and will also be vacant.

CNN excerpt:

Two Republican members of the House of Representatives tell CNN that they expect at least 140 of their GOP colleagues in the House to vote against counting the electoral votes on January 6 when Congress is expected to certify President-elect Joe Biden’s victory.

…Both a House member and senator are required to mount an objection when Congress counts the votes. Republican Sen. Josh Hawley of Missouri said Wednesday he will object, which will force lawmakers in both the House and Senate to vote on whether to accept the results of Biden’s victory. Other senators — including incoming ones — could still join that effort, which Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell has privately urged Republicans not to do…

List of about three dozen Republicans publicly supporting the electors challenge via The Hill as of Thursday afternoon:

Rep. Brian Babin (Texas), Rep. Andy Biggs (Ariz.) Rep.-elect Lauren Boebert (Colo.), Rep. Mo Brooks (Ala.), Rep. Ted Budd (N.C.), Rep.-elect Jerry Carl (Ala.), Rep.-elect Madison Cawthorn (N.C.), Rep.-elect Andrew Clyde (Ga.), Rep.-elect Byron Donalds (Fla.), Rep. Jeff Duncan (S.C.), Rep. Matt Gaetz (Fla.), Rep. Louie Gohmert (Texas), Rep.-elect Bob Good (Va.), Rep. Lance Gooden (Texas), Rep. Paul Gosar (Ariz.), Rep. Mark Green (Tenn.), Rep.-elect Diana Harshbarger (Tenn.), Rep.-elect Yvette Herrell (N.M.), Rep. Jody Hice (Ga.), Rep. Clay Higgins (La.), Rep.-elect Ronny Jackson (Texas), Rep. John Joyce (Pa.), Rep. Fred Keller (Pa.), Rep. Mike Kelly (Pa.), Rep. Dan Meuser (Pa.), Rep.-elect Barry Moore (Ala.), Rep. Ralph Norman (S.C.) Rep.-elect Burgess Owens (Utah) Rep. Scott Perry (Pa.) Rep. Guy Reschenthaler (Pa.) Rep. Lloyd Smucker (Pa.) Rep.-elect Marjorie Taylor Greene (Ga.), Rep. GT Thompson (Pa.), Rep. Jefferson Van Drew (N.J.).

UPDATE: Four GOP Reps. from Missouri announced their support for the challenges Thursday evening: Rep. Jason Smith (MO-08), Rep. Billy Long (MO-07), Rep. Sam Graves (MO-06), and Rep. Vicky Hartzler (MO-04)

Photo of author
Kristinn Taylor has contributed to The Gateway Pundit for over ten years. Mr. Taylor previously wrote for Breitbart, worked for Judicial Watch and was co-leader of the D.C. Chapter of He studied journalism in high school, visited the Newseum and once met David Brinkley.

You can email Kristinn Taylor here, and read more of Kristinn Taylor's articles here.


Thanks for sharing!