Democrats Announce 20 Candidate Line-Up for Two-Night Debate Circus in Miami, June 26-27

The Democratic Party announced the list of presidential candidates who met the requirements to qualify for the first debates to be held over two nights in Miami, June 26 and 27.

“Bennet, Biden, Booker, Buttigieg, Castro, de Blasio, Delaney, Gabbard, Gillibrand, Harris, Hickenlooper, Inslee, Klobuchar, O’Rourke, Ryan, Sanders, Swalwell, Warren, Williamson, and Yang — see you in Miami. “

NBC News is sponsoring the debates with MSNBC and Telemundo. For some reason, NBC’s debate promo graphic is rather circus like. Hmmm…

CNN’s Dan Merica noted three candidates failed to make the cut, “The DNC announces the following 20 candidates made the first debates, meaning Montana Gov. Steve Bullock, Massachusetts Rep. Seth Moulton and Miramar, Florida, Mayor Wayne Messam are left out.”

NBC reported the qualifications for the debate:

The DNC, which is sanctioning the debate, set two ways for candidates to qualify — fundraising and polling. To make the stage, candidates needed to have either at least 1 percent support in three qualifying polls, or provide evidence of at least 65,000 unique donors, with a minimum of 200 different donors in at least 20 states.

Most candidates met both qualifications for polling and fundraising:

Former Vice President Joe Biden (DE), Sen. Cory Booker (NJ), South Bend, Indiana Mayor Pete Buttigieg, Former Housing Secretary Julián Castro (TX), Rep. Tulsi Gabbard (HI), Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand (NY), Sen. Kamala Harris (CA), Gov. Jay Inslee (WA), Sen. Amy Klobuchar (MN), Former Rep. Beto O’Rourke (TX), Sen. Bernie Sanders (VT), Sen. Elizabeth (MA), Author Marianne Williamson (currently IA) and Entrepreneur Andrew Yang (NY),

Those who qualified only through polling are:

Sen. Michael Bennet (CO), New York City Mayor Bill de Blasio, Former Rep. John Delaney (MD), Former Gov. John Hickenlooper (CO), Rep. Tim Ryan (OH) and Rep. Eric Swalwell (CA).

Details of the debate via NBC:

The debate will take place on June 26 and 27 at the Adrienne Arsht Center for the Performing Arts in downtown Miami.

The two-night event is hosted by NBC News, MSNBC and Telemundo, and will air live across all three from 9 p.m. to 11 p.m ET both nights. The debate will also stream online free on NBC News’ digital platforms, including,, the NBC News Mobile App and OTT apps, in addition to Telemundo’s digital platforms.

…Savannah Guthrie, Lester Holt, Chuck Todd, Rachel Maddow and José Diaz-Balart will moderate the debate, NBC announced Tuesday.

…Each night of the Democratic debates will feature 10 candidates. According to the DNC, the participants for each night will be chosen at random but will be done in a way to ensure that both night’s groups feature an even mix of candidates.

You Might Like