House Passes Bill to Codify Same-Sex Marriage – Measure Heads to Biden’s Desk

The House of Representatives on Thursday passed a bill to codify same-sex marriage.

The Senate passed the same measure last week in a 61-36 vote.

The bill, dubbed the Respect for Marriage Act, passed the House 258-169 and will head to Joe Biden’s desk for a signature.

Joe Biden is expected to sign the bill.

NBC News reported:

The House passed legislation Thursday that enshrines federal protections for marriages of same-sex and interracial couples.

The vote of 258-169 sends the Respect for Marriage Act to President Joe Biden, who praised Congress for passing the bill and is expected to sign it into law. It comes after the Senate passed the same bill last week by a vote of 61-36.

Democrats were unified in favor of the bill, while most Republicans in both chambers voted against it. Thirty-nine House Republicans supported the legislation Thursday and one voted present.

Here are the House Republicans who voted for the Respect for Marriage Act today via Newsweek:

  • Kelly Armstrong of North Dakota
  • Don Bacon of Nebraska
  • Ken Calvert of California
  • Kat Cammack of Florida
  • Mike Carey of Ohio
  • Liz Cheney of Wyoming
  • John Curtis of Utah
  • Rodney Davis of Illinois
  • Tom Emmer of Minnesota
  • Brian Fitzpatrick of Pennsylvania
  • Mike Gallagher of Wisconsin
  • Andrew Garbarino of New York
  • Mike Garcia of California
  • Carlos Gimenez of Florida
  • Tony Gonzales of Texas
  • Anthony Gonzalez of Ohio
  • Jamie Herrera Beutler of Washington
  • Ashley Hinson of Iowa
  • Darrell Issa of California
  • Chris Jacobs of New York
  • David Joyce of Ohio
  • John Katko of New York
  • Nancy Mace of South Carolina
  • Nicole Malliotakis of New York
  • Peter Meijer of Michigan
  • Mariannette Miller-Meeks of Iowa
  • Blake Moore of Utah
  • Dan Newhouse Washington
  • Jay Obernolte of California
  • Tom Rice of South Carolina
  • Mike Simpson of Idaho
  • Elise Stefanik of New York
  • Bryan Steil of Wisconsin
  • Chris Stewart of Utah
  • Mike Turner of Ohio
  • Fred Upton of Michigan
  • David Valadao of California
  • Ann Wagner of Missouri
  • Michael Waltz of Florida

The Republican Senators who voted in favor of this bill last week:

  • Roy Blunt of Missouri
  • Richard Burr of North Carolina
  • Shelley Moore Capito of West Virginia
  • Susan Collins of Maine
  • Joni Ernst of Iowa
  • Cynthia Lummis of Wyoming
  • Lisa Murkowski of Alaska
  • Rob Portman of Ohio
  • Mitt Romney of Utah
  • Dan Sullivan of Alaska
  • Thom Tillis of North Carolina
  • Todd Young of Indiana
Dear Reader - The enemies of freedom are choking off the Gateway Pundit from the resources we need to bring you the truth. Since many asked for it, we now have a way for you to support The Gateway Pundit directly - and get ad-reduced access. Plus, there are goodies like a special Gateway Pundit coffee mug for supporters at a higher level. You can see all the options by clicking here - thank you for your support!
Photo of author
Cristina began writing for The Gateway Pundit in 2016 and she is now the Associate Editor.

You can email Cristina Laila here, and read more of Cristina Laila's articles here.


Thanks for sharing!