Senate AGAIN Votes to End Trump’s Emergency Declaration on Border Wall – Here Are the Republicans Who Voted with Democrats

The Senate again voted on Wednesday to end President Trump’s emergency declaration on the border wall.

Senators voted 54-41 on a resolution to end the emergency declaration which would allow Trump to divert funds from the Pentagon to build a border wall.

According to The Hill, 11 Republican Senators voted with the Democrats to end the emergency declaration:

Senators Lamar Alexander (TN), Roy Blunt (MO), Susan Collins (ME), Mike Lee (UT), Jerry Moran (KS), Lisa Murkowski (AK), Rand Paul (KY), Rob Portman (OH), Mitt Romney (UT), Pat Toomey (PA) and Roger Wicker (MS) voted to end the president’s emergency declaration on Wednesday likely prompting a veto showdown.

Senate Minority Leader Chuck Schumer (D-NY) accused Trump of stealing money from the troops to fund the border wall.

“The vote today is the surest and likely the only way to restore funding the president has stolen from our troops and military projects across the country,” Schumer said.

Congress has failed to provide Trump with border funding even when the Republicans held the majority in the House and Senate during Trump’s first two years in the White House.

RINO Senator Susan Collins who was a co-sponsor of the resolution and will be fighting for her seat in 2020 said, “The question before us is not whether to support or oppose the wall, or to support or oppose the President. Rather, it is: Do we want the Executive Branch — now or in the future — to hold a power that the Founders deliberately entrusted to Congress?”

The President declared a national emergency back in February and vetoed a prior resolution passed by the Senate to kill his declaration.

Photo of author
Cristina began writing for The Gateway Pundit in 2016 and she is now the Associate Editor.

You can email Cristina Laila here, and read more of Cristina Laila's articles here.


Thanks for sharing!