Trump Tweets “VETO!” After Senate Votes to Block National Emergency Declaration – 12 Republicans Voted Against Trump

President Trump tweeted, “VETO!” moments after the Senate voted to block his national emergency declaration to secure funding for the border wall.

The Senate voted on Thursday to block President Trump’s national emergency declaration in a 59-41 vote.

Twelve Republicans voted with Democrats to pass the measure.

GOP Sens. Lamar Alexander (TN), Susan Collins (ME), Mike Lee (UT), Lisa Murkowski (AK), Roy Blunt (MO), Rand Paul (KY), Pat Toomey (PA), Rob Portman (OH), Jerry Moran (KS), Marco Rubio (FL), Roger Wicker (MS) and Mitt Romney (UT) voted for the resolution blocking Trump’s emergency declaration, reported The Hill.

“VETO!” Trump tweeted on Thursday afternoon.

The President followed up by saying he looks forward to vetoing the “Democrat inspired Resolution” which would open borders while increasing crime, drugs and trafficking into our country.

This will be President Trump’s first veto.

RINO Trump-basher Senator Mitt Romney slammed President Trump Thursday morning before the vote.

“I will today vote for the resolution of disapproval. This is a vote for the constitution and for the balance of powers that is at its core,” Romney said in a statement.

It is unclear if the House will move to override President Trump’s veto.

It would require a two-thirds vote in each Chamber to override President Trump’s veto.

Photo of author
Cristina began writing for The Gateway Pundit in 2016 and she is now the Associate Editor.

You can email Cristina Laila here, and read more of Cristina Laila's articles here.


Thanks for sharing!