GOP Lawmakers Who Bucked Trump and Signed DACA Discharge Petition Got SHELLACKED in Midterms

In June, 2018, twenty-three Republican lawmakers signed a DACA discharge petition to force a House floor vote on immigration bills, according to the House Clerk’s Office.

Nearly two dozen Republicans came to the Democrat Party’s rescue and signed on to give DACA amnesty to Dreamers.

Republicans behind the discharge petition.
Via Rep. Will Hurd (R-TX) photo

This was after Democrats refused to deal with President Trump.

Gateway Pundit Poll: Does Trump Have Your Vote In 2020?

These Republicans had a hard time on Election Day.
13 of 23 will not be coming back to Congress.

Republicans: 23

  1. Carlos Curbelo, R-Florida
  2. Jeff Denham, R-California
  3. David Valadao, R-California (uncalled)
  4. Will Hurd, R-Texas — won reelection in tight race
  5. Mario Diaz-Balart, R-Florida — won
  6. Mia Love, R-Utah
  7. –lost

  8. Ileana Ros-Lehtinen, R-Florida (lost seat)
  9. Charlie Dent, R-Pennsylvania (left Congress)
  10. Fred Upton, R-Michigan –won
  11. David Reichert, R-Washington –retired
  12. Mike Coffman, R-Colorado – lost
  13. Chris Collins, R-New York –won
  14. John Faso, R-New York –lost
  15. Mark Amodei, R-Nevada -won
  16. Elise Stefanik, R-New York -won
  17. Leonard Lance, R-New Jersey –lost
  18. Ryan Costello, R-Pennsylvania –lost
  19. Stephen Knight, R-California –lost
  20. John Katko, R-New York –won
  21. David Trott, R-Michigan retired and succeeded by Democrat
  22. Erik Paulsen, R-Minnesota -lost
  23. Tom Reed, R-New York –won
  24. Brian Fitzpatrick, R-Pennsylvania –won

Thirteen of the 23 Republicans (and possibly 14) will no longer be serving in Congress in 2019.

Rather than supporting a border wall they supported an amnesty plan.
Next year they will be looking for new work.

Photo of author
Jim Hoft is the founder and editor of The Gateway Pundit, one of the top conservative news outlets in America. Jim was awarded the Reed Irvine Accuracy in Media Award in 2013 and is the proud recipient of the Breitbart Award for Excellence in Online Journalism from the Americans for Prosperity Foundation in May 2016. In 2023, The Gateway Pundit received the Most Trusted Print Media Award at the American Liberty Awards.

You can email Jim Hoft here, and read more of Jim Hoft's articles here.


Thanks for sharing!