UPDATED: Democrats Boycotting Trump Inaugural Nears Two Dozen Congressmen

The number of Democrats who have announced they are boycotting Friday’s Inauguration of Donald Trump as the forty-fifth president of the United States has now passed a dozen with more expected after Trump dared to respond to sharp criticism by Rep. John Lewis (D-GA) calling Trumps presidency “illegitimate”.

List of Congressmen who have stated their intention to not attend Trump’s inauguration (partially compiled from The Hill and Politico.)

Rep. Luis Gutiérrez (D-IL); Rep. Katherine Clark (D-MA); Rep. Jared Huffman (D-CA); Rep. Barbara Lee (D-CA); Rep. Raul Grijalva )D-AZ); Rep. John Lewis (D-GA); Rep. Mark DeSaulnier (D-CA); Rep. Lacy Clay (D-MO); Rep. Earl Blumenauer (D-OR); Rep. Kurt Schrader (OR); Rep. Mark Takano (D-CA); Rep. Jose Serrano (D-NY); Rep. Nydia Velazquez (D-NY) Rep. Luis Gutierrez (D-IL); Rep. Maxine Waters (D-CA); Rep. Ted Lieu (D-CA).

Update: Rep. Yvette Clarke (D-NY) will not attend.

“I will NOT attend the inauguration of @realDonaldTrump. When you insult @repjohnlewis, you insult America.”

The Hill added Rep. John Conyers (D-MI) to the boycott list Saturday night.

Added late Saturday by Politico: Rep. Adriano Espaillat (D-NY) and Rep. Jerrold Nadler (D-NY)

Missed this announcement of boycott Saturday: Rep Mark Pocan (D-WI)

“After reading classified Russian hacking doc & @realDonaldTrump offensive tweets to @repjohnlewis I will not be attending the Inauguration.”

More: Rep. Judy Chu (D-CA); Rep. Marcia Fudge (D-OH) and Rep. Pramila Jayapal (D-WA)

NBC News notes Rep. Pete DeFazio (D-OR) will not attend , but hat he usually skips inaugurals.

No senators have announced a boycott yet, though several Democrat senators have not announced whether they will attend or boycott.

You Might Like


As a privately owned web site, we reserve the right to edit or remove comments that contain spam, advertising, vulgarity, threats of violence, racism, anti-Semitism, or personal/abusive attacks on other users. The same applies to trolling, the use of multiple aliases, or just generally being a jerk. Enforcement of this policy is at the sole discretion of the site administrators and repeat offenders may be blocked or permanently banned without warning. Guest posting is disabled for security reasons.

You Might Like