GOP Elects Kevin McCarthy as Next Majority Leader – Steve Scalise, Majority Whip

House Republicans elected Rep. Kevin McCarthy as the next Majority Leader replacing Eric Cantor.


Flashback: House Majority Whip Kevin McCarthy was the one who drafted the secret criteria list House Speaker John Boehner used in his purge of conservatives from House committees.

Republican Steve Scalise (R-LA) won his bid for House Majority Whip, replacing Kevin McCarthy.
The Huffington Post reported:

Rep. Steve Scalise (R-La.) on Thursday won his bid to become House majority whip. He replaces Rep. Kevin McCarthy (R-Calif.), who was elected House majority leader minutes earlier.

Scalise was in a three-way race against Rep. Peter Roskam (R-Ill.), McCarthy’s chief deputy whip, and Rep. Marlin Stutzman (R-Ind.), a second-term lawmaker with low name recognition.

The ascension of Scalise, chairman of the conservative Republican Study Committee, to House leadership marks a victory for more right-wing members of the party. Roskam, his biggest challenger, was viewed as more of an establishment Republican given his recent job as chief deputy whip to McCarthy.

You Might Like