Obama Announces Sanctions Against 7 Russian Officials – Russian Markets Rally Over Weak Response

Barack Obama announced sanctions against 7 officials today, including senior aides to Russian President Vladimir Putin and the former president of Ukraine, Viktor Yanukovych.

Via Kyiv Post:
us sanctions russia

The Kyiv Post reported:


In response to the Russian government’s actions contributing to the crisis in Ukraine, this new E.O. lists seven Russian government officials who are being designated for sanctions. These individuals are Vladislav Surkov, Sergey Glazyev, Leonid Slutsky, Andrei Klishas, Valentina Matviyenko, Dmitry Rogozin, and Yelena Mizulina.

The United States also will seek to hold accountable individuals who use their resources or influence to support or act on behalf of senior Russian government officials. We recognize that the Russian leadership derives significant support from, and takes action through, individuals who do not themselves serve in any official capacity. Our current focus is to identify these individuals and target their personal assets, but not companies that they may manage on behalf of the Russian state.

The Russian markets rallied over Obama’s weak sanctions against Russia.

You Might Like